PDA

View Full Version : A Note About Sigs



Martin the Warrior
February 14th, 2003, 12:17 AM
I've been meaning to get this up for the past few weeks.

I've received a few complaints about the long, image heavy sigs on the board and I'd say they're legitimate.

Everyone needs to be conscious of the fact that your sigs have to be loaded every time someone views a page. No sig image should be more than 20KB in size, if even that.

So, I'd appreciate it if everyone would follow a few simple guidelines regarding sigs.

One image allowed per sig, two if the second image is very small (5 KB or less).

If two images are used, they should be on the same row (i.e. no line breaks "<br>").

Try to keep the height of the image you use reasonable. It shouldn't take up half of the monitor when browsing.

File size of the image should not exceed 20 KB and should not, under any circumstances, be in the 100+ KB range.

No changes have been made regarding text sigs.

If you're unsure whether or not your sig meets the above guidelines, post a reply and I'll let you know.

Darkhood_343
February 14th, 2003, 07:12 AM
Heh. For some reason I think this was directed to me. I'll go fix my sig.

*just looked at his sig* Thanks Martin. And I can't get the two images on one line for some reason.

Darkhood_343
February 14th, 2003, 07:44 AM
I just shortened my sig with only one image. It's 5.10 kb. Is that satisfactory?

LadyBeelze
February 14th, 2003, 08:58 AM
Okay i'll keep that in mind in the future

dandin1
February 14th, 2003, 10:07 AM
test (I'll edit this message in a min.)

12,9 KB. Good, I'm not over the limit.... I could even lower it by deleting that unused background jpg....

Baby Rollo
February 14th, 2003, 08:38 PM
Is my sig okay? I don't know how to find out the KB

Darkhood_343
February 14th, 2003, 10:19 PM
Rollo
Is my sig okay? I don't know how to find out the KB
I'm pretty sure,it loads fine on my computer. And to find out the KB,have the image stored on your own comp, move your mouse over the file name, and it should say how big the file is. Wait... hold on.

The "I'm Inuyasha" one is 14.3 KB. The pic of your ancestor is 2.75 KB, and the sprite is a whooping 38.2 KB.

Furrtil
February 15th, 2003, 11:54 AM
Lady Beelzebumon -- The link in your sig to the Digital Hikari or whatever does not work.

MoonShadow
February 15th, 2003, 01:48 PM
Beelz -- To fix your link, put an "http://" in front of your URL.

Martin the Warrior
February 15th, 2003, 04:32 PM
Darkhood
Is that satisfactory?

That's fine.


Beelze
Okay i'll keep that in mind in the future

Beelze, if you could shrink that picture down to, say, 125 pixels in height, that would be great.


Baby Rollo
Is my sig okay? I don't know how to find out the KB

One image allowed per sig

File size of the image should not exceed 20 KB

No. ;)

The animated icon is too large KB-wise. As for the other two, if you take out the line breaks, then they'd be fine. Another alternative is to crop the Rollo picture and make it your avatar, leaving the Inuyasha picture as your sig.

Baby Rollo
February 15th, 2003, 11:34 PM
Martin, I would if I could. But I just don't know a lot about computers. I don't even understand half the things you're talking about.

Lyrian Aryns
February 16th, 2003, 12:15 AM
Rollo: The animated thingy is way too big file-wise; you need to take it out of your sig. The Rollo and Inuyasha pics would be all right if you put them on the same line, that is, no <br>'s or carriage returns (hitting the enter key) between them. Or you could take the Rollo pic out of your sig, as well, cut it down to 75x75 pixels and use it as the little picture under your name.

And, actually, I could crop the Rollo picture for you, if you wanted me to...

dandin1
February 16th, 2003, 10:04 AM
I could crop it too, but you'd have to host it on another server than mine... Rollo, you should put images that arent hosted by you in your sig, that's called bandwith stealing...

Baby Rollo
February 16th, 2003, 10:15 AM
I still have no idea what you guys are talking about. I'm not 10 years old you know. The only crops I know about are the ones in the abbey garden.

Martin the Warrior
February 16th, 2003, 11:28 AM
Rollo, I've explained it, Lyrian's explained it, it can't get any clearer. One image per sig. You have three. Take two out. The icon with the two characters has to be one of the two you take out. Whether you keep Inuyasha or Baby Rollo is up to you.

If this is too difficult for you, I'll go in and do it myself.

The Red Badger
February 16th, 2003, 01:48 PM
Originally posted by Baby Rollo
I still have no idea what you guys are talking about. I'm not 10 years old you know. The only crops I know about are the ones in the abbey garden.

"Crop". Selecting a specific portion of an image and removing/deleting everything else. Any standard image editor will do it.

The sigless aside, I'd say I have the shortest sig on the board. I lead by example. :cool:

Baby Rollo
February 16th, 2003, 03:05 PM
Be my guest Martin. Just try to make the animated thing in my avatar if that's possible. Thanks.

dandin1
February 16th, 2003, 03:13 PM
martin wants you to completely remove the animated sprite because it is way too big.

rollu, I made an avatar for you. please don't use that URL, I will deleted it when you reply.

www3.sympatico.ca/rppm.latulipp/temp/rolloTEMP.jpg

dandin1
February 16th, 2003, 03:26 PM
ok, i've uploaded it to my unused graffiti account, you can use it from that server:

http://home.graffiti.net/dandin1/rolloTEMP.jpg

Martin the Warrior
February 16th, 2003, 05:49 PM
Fine. There.

The animated image is too large to be accepted as an avatar by the system. If you want to use the cropped image Dandin made as an avatar and replace the full Rollo picture with the Inuyasha one, that's fine. Make the switch. Just keep the sig at one image.

Baby Rollo
February 16th, 2003, 08:50 PM
Thanks Martin. I appreciate it. Thank you too Dandin.

Cale Yin
February 17th, 2003, 10:50 PM
AHA!!! I finally found out how to re-enable cookies. My dad went on a cookie-killing spree and practically made every site I visit unvisitable. I've read posts but couldn't post myself. UNTIL NOW!!

How is my sig? I can't find the place where you check the kb's.

dandin1
February 18th, 2003, 07:54 AM
Your sig is ok, the image is under 1k.

Lyrian Aryns
February 18th, 2003, 05:56 PM
Just so you know, you can roughly estimate the size of an image in KB by right clicking on said image, and select 'properties'. Then, under 'Size', just ignore the last three numbers. (I.E. - if it says an image is 5030 bytes, then it would be roughly 5KB).

dandin1
February 18th, 2003, 05:58 PM
*feels stupid*

Martin the Warrior
February 18th, 2003, 07:15 PM
Your sig is fine, Caleyin.

Darkhood_343
February 19th, 2003, 03:35 PM
Dandin
*feels stupid*
I would too, if I were the all knowing Dandin1. (and no, I'm not mocking you)

Darkhood_343
February 19th, 2003, 03:37 PM
Now the image in your sig isn't working Rollo...

dandin1
February 20th, 2003, 07:48 AM
it's working now.

Matthias of Redwall
February 22nd, 2003, 12:17 PM
Is my sig ok?

Airemia
February 22nd, 2003, 12:43 PM
There are no images in it, so it should be fine. :)

Martin the Warrior
February 22nd, 2003, 03:11 PM
Originally posted by Matthias of Redwall
Is my sig ok?

The line breaks make it rather long, so I'd suggest either formatting your sig like:

Who says I am dead
knows nought at all.
I- am that is ,
Two mice within Redwall.
The warrior sleeps
‘Twixt Hall and Cavern Hole.
I- am that is,
Take on my mighty role.
Look for the sword
In moonlight streaming forth,
At night, when day’s first hour
Reflects the North.
From o’er the threshold
Seek and you will see;
I- am that is,
My sword will wield for me.

(Rhyme from beneath the Great Hall tapestry)

Or like:

Who says I am dead // knows nought at all. // I- am that is , // Two mice within Redwall. // The warrior sleeps // ‘Twixt Hall and Cavern Hole. // I- am that is, // Take on my mighty role. // Look for the sword // In moonlight streaming forth, // At night, when day’s first hour // Reflects the North. // From o’er the threshold // Seek and you will see; // I- am that is, //My sword will wield for me.

(Rhyme from beneath the Great Hall tapestry)

The fewer lines a text sig takes, the better.

Calantorntain
February 25th, 2003, 05:28 PM
how is my sig? Should I ditch the picture? I sort of like it though...

Edit: Squee, I now have an avater!

Darkhood_343
February 25th, 2003, 09:21 PM
Well, the image is about 10 kb, but I think it should be fine. And welcome to the forum, new person!

Martin the Warrior
February 27th, 2003, 10:08 PM
Your sig is fine. Welcome to the Forum, Calantorntain!

LadyBeelze
March 2nd, 2003, 09:33 PM
just checking, is the new pic in my signature too big?

Martin the Warrior
March 2nd, 2003, 10:22 PM
It seems to be 14 KB, so it's fine.

Lord of the Bracelet
March 4th, 2003, 08:02 PM
I am a new patroller, I know this sounds dumb, but... How do you get all those pictures for your sign, hehe!

dandin1
March 4th, 2003, 08:14 PM
to put an image in your sig, go in you control panel (http://forums.longpatrolclub.com/usercp.php?s=) then in "edit profile" (http://forums.longpatrolclub.com/member.php?s=&action=editprofile)

on the page you'll see a place where it says "Signature" you can type the HTML in there.

Don't know HTML? it's quite simple.

image <img src="url to image">
bold <b>text</b>
flash <embed src="URL to flash" width="X" height="X">

Son't take images from someone's ite if they don't give you permission. That's called bandwith stealing and it's not good. Upload them on your own server.
Don't know how to upload images? it's not as simple as HTML.
you must find a good image hosting site like graffitti, boomspeed, brinkster. (someone post the URLs, I don't know how to spell it properly) and upload the image there. instructions are diffrent for evrey site, and I don't use any of them.


Please don't make me feel guilty of telling you this! keep it small

Lyrian Aryns
March 4th, 2003, 09:03 PM
Oh, and out of those three, your best bet would be graffiti.net, seeing as Boomspeed has been giving certain 'non-professional' users great difficulties and Brinkster doesn't let you use your pictures on other sites.

And for Graffiti, after you sign up, and sign in, you'll see a row of tabs across the top of the page. Click on 'Webhosting', agree to their demands, and you'll find yourself on a file manager page. Somewhere on the bottom, there's a text box and two buttons, "Upload" and "Browse". Click Browse, find your picture, click 'ok'. Then click upload on the page, and you're set.
Oh, and the URL for a picture on Graffiti woud be:
http://home.graffiti.net/username/picname.gif
With 'username' replaced by the name you signed up with, and 'picname' with the name of the picture you're using.

And I sincerely hope that was helpful... it's not nearly as complicated as it looks.

LadyBeelze
March 4th, 2003, 09:42 PM
Don't try boomspeed, it deleted both of my accounts because i used them on "message boards". Try graffiti

Calantorntain
March 4th, 2003, 10:09 PM
I like hosting pictures on Neopets. But that is just me, I am odd like that. Although it is amazingly easy. I like that.

Lord of the Bracelet
March 5th, 2003, 07:22 PM
Definitely. I am another patroller that is on the level of Rollo's. I don't even know the basic, basic thing. Where the "BLINK" do you even get the sigs?! Please HHEELLPP!

Lyrian Aryns
March 5th, 2003, 08:03 PM
Well, generally, one must make it. ;)

You could also use http://flamingtext.com. Under the "Site Map" click on the link that says "Headings". Apparently now they have a little step-by-step process on there. Anyways, after you fool around a bit and get a banner that you like, right-click on it. Select "Save Picture As...". In the filename box it'll have a bunch of random letters and numbers; I suggest you rename it to something more manageable. Just don't put any spaces in it. Then click save, and refer to the posts above.

MoonShadow
March 6th, 2003, 02:03 PM
Welcome back!

It's a good idea to save the flamingtext image that you like onto your computer, then upload it, since flamingtext doesn't host the pictures for that long. Then just use HTML in dandin's post to get it into your sig. :)

Darkhood_343
March 6th, 2003, 02:12 PM
LOTB
Definitely. I am another patroller that is on the level of Rollo's. I don't even know the basic, basic thing. Where the "BLINK" do you even get the sigs?! Please HHEELLPP!
I remember feeling *exactly* like you for a while, until Dandin explained it to me over AIM. (With a little help from Lyrian)

First of all, what I did for my sig is:

1.Had an image in my Computer (Hard Drive)

2.Signed up for Graffiti.net (http://www.graffiti.net).

3.Uploaded the image to my Graffiti account. (When you sign in to Graffiti, click on "Web Hosting" at the top of the page and click the "Browse..." Button at the bottom of the "web hosting" page, fiind the file from your computer, and then clicked "Upload")

4.The image uploaded and I was able to put it on other sites.

5.Came back to LP.

6.Signed In

7.Clicked on "User CP"

8.Clicked "Edit Profile"

9.Went down to the box where you can change your sig.

10.Typed in (now this is *very* important) <img src="http://home.graffiti.net/my user name/file name. type of file">

11.Clicked "Save Changes"

12.DONE!

Now, remember, if you're gonna upload a file from your comp to Graffiti, make sure the file name has NO SPACES WHATSOEVER!!! Only Underscores (_) and letters. Hope this helps.

dandin1
March 6th, 2003, 09:43 PM
numbers are allowed too.

the USER CP button is at the top right of the page.

Lyrian Aryns
March 7th, 2003, 12:58 AM
As a remark totally off the subject at hand... Erm, Beelze, that second image you've got in your sig is gigantically hugely large. As in, I don't even know how big it is because I'm willing to bet that even as I type this, it still wouldn't have loaded completely. So, um... removing it would be a worthwhile endeavor, seeing as it most certainly exceeds the 20KB limit. Thanks. :)

dandin1
March 7th, 2003, 08:25 AM
yhea, it's waaaay over the 20kb limit... try make it non-animated, or not having an image at all.

Darkhood_343
March 7th, 2003, 05:23 PM
What is the image? It's not even showing up on this comp. (I'm at the library) I'm betting it has to do with Digimon though... I looked at the properties.

LadyBeelze
March 7th, 2003, 06:43 PM
oops, forgot to check the kb before i stuck it in my signature. Its 829 kb, way off the limit..i took it out.

Martin the Warrior
March 7th, 2003, 11:34 PM
Ironically enough, your sig still needs to be fixed, Beelze. ;)

First, the screenshot is 21KB-- over the 20KB limit. Second, there are two images in your sig-- one 21KB, one 14KB. The deal for the second image is 5KB or under. Third, a second image needs to be on the same row-- these aren't. Finally, your sig takes up an entire page in a maximized window. Too long.

Please fix it. :)

The Red Badger
March 8th, 2003, 11:54 AM
That screenshot still exceeds the 20KB limit.

LadyBeelze
March 8th, 2003, 01:58 PM
okees, i sliced the picture in half so now its only 11kb

Slagar the Cruel
March 8th, 2003, 02:44 PM
I'd just like to express my gladness at the lack of gigantic, browser-slowing images in people's sigs as of late. :D

Martin the Warrior
March 8th, 2003, 09:12 PM
Much better. Thanks.

Pennybright
March 8th, 2003, 09:22 PM
I agree!

The Red Badger
March 10th, 2003, 09:51 PM
Personally, I think sigs should be text-based with your avatar serving as your way to get an image in. The idea of what sigs are on the 'net has been incredibly warped since their inception. Sigs are basically meant to be a way to save yourself the trouble of typing your name at the end of your posts over and over and over. Generally one would offset their name with a ~ or a - and then include an interesting or humourous quote underneath. Somewhere along the way sigs have become multimedia events that are seldom left unchanged for more than a few weeks.

Now, in some cases I can see why someone would put a certain image in their sig. In other cases, I'm scratching my head wondering why they want *that* image to show up under every single post they make. But, then, some things man and badger are never meant to know.

Need I say I'm griping about the 'net and not anyone here? Probably do. Consider it said.

Slagar the Cruel
March 10th, 2003, 10:20 PM
Sigs are fully customizable. Some people are sticklers for customization. *cough*Dandin*cough* ;)

LadyBeelze
March 10th, 2003, 10:32 PM
cauz i get tired of looking at text all day, i need something besides text V_V

Martin the Warrior
March 15th, 2003, 10:44 PM
Sig length is just as important an issue as image size. An easy way to gauge your sig's length: hold out four fingers (horizontally) and place them up against the screen. If your sig exceeds the window your four fingers creates, then it's too long.

On that note, Beelze, please choose either the image or the text. Having them both creates a sig more than a page in length which is, primarily, what I wanted to cut down on in the first place.

LadyBeelze
March 16th, 2003, 09:57 AM
okay, sorry. I didn't know there was a length limit too

Cornflower
March 17th, 2003, 12:28 AM
I made my Fairly Odd Parents logo on my sig smaller, hope that helps it to load better! ;)

MoonShadow
March 17th, 2003, 03:42 PM
Well, Cornflower, you did cut down your sig, but it still takes up a lot of space, so if you get rid of all of the space between the images and put them on the same line. Even then, your Fairly Oddparents image is still a bit too big--you might want to reduce or crop just a bit of it, or crunch it, using an image cruncher.

Darkhood_343
March 18th, 2003, 12:18 PM
It seems fine now, Cornflower. To me at least.

Martin the Warrior
March 18th, 2003, 10:56 PM
Much better, Cornflower. Thanks! :)

Darkhood_343
March 26th, 2003, 04:12 PM
I just changed my sig. Is it okay, Martin?

Martin the Warrior
March 26th, 2003, 08:04 PM
Yep.

Darkhood_343
March 27th, 2003, 10:59 AM
Ok, kewl. I didn't know if all the text color changes would do anything,

true_redwaller
April 5th, 2003, 10:50 AM
I'm testing out my sig. Is there anything wrong with the size or anything else?

LadyBeelze
April 5th, 2003, 03:41 PM
your sig is just fine t_r, the picture seems to be.um....like 15-16 kb

Asmodeus
July 1st, 2005, 06:26 PM
is my sig ok? :confused:

Bladeswift
July 1st, 2005, 06:28 PM
is my sig ok? :confused:
Your signature is fine. What is not "ok" is the fact that you resurrected a thread whose last post is dated in 2003.

Jodan
July 1st, 2005, 06:55 PM
And going along with what Blade said, why don't you actually read the thread? Your question will be answered in there. In fact, in the very first thread.

PiarasJ
July 1st, 2005, 08:19 PM
Give him a break, he just wanted to know if his sig was okay and resurrecting this thread was the best way to find out.

Chill out. :p

Martin the Warrior
July 2nd, 2005, 05:17 PM
Be nicer to newbies, guys. You were once one, too. ;)

And, yes, the sig is fine.

Warrier
July 2nd, 2005, 05:50 PM
ya hes a newbie so be nice and help him out

stoatmaster54321
July 3rd, 2005, 09:52 PM
och, is mah signahtuair ok (accent of doogy plum)? :( :(

Lonna Bowstripe
July 5th, 2005, 01:05 PM
och, is mah signahtuair ok (accent of doogy plum)? :( :(No, it's 1 line long with appropriate content and no pictures. :rolleyes:

Jodan
July 5th, 2005, 01:32 PM
och, is mah signahtuair ok (accent of doogy plum)? :( :(

That's the worst Doogy Plum accent I've ever read.

stoatmaster54321
July 5th, 2005, 02:57 PM
i know. YOU try it if your so good!

Furrtil
July 5th, 2005, 03:31 PM
Accents are hard to do and perfect. Even Mr. Jacques hasen't perfected them, as shown as how molespeek gradually evolves and changes throughout the chronology. So, basically, give him a break. He tried.

Lord-Badrang
July 24th, 2005, 12:03 AM
is my Sig allright or is there some modifications i should do?

Martin the Warrior
July 25th, 2005, 08:26 PM
Nope, it's fine.

Cheesethief
July 26th, 2005, 11:14 AM
When my security program informs me that someone's sig is trying to access my computer, and it poses a "Low Risk", does that mean the sig is any different from other JPG pictures or links, or is it just a coincidence?