PDA

View Full Version : Mac?



Madd The Sane
May 27th, 2003, 08:59 AM
Which OS do you like And Why?

Darkhood_343
May 27th, 2003, 10:05 AM
Windows! Mac is 3vil. To hard to manage with. Besides, Windows gets games a lot earlier.

LadyBeelze
May 27th, 2003, 10:33 AM
I hate windows but then again i hate mac worse. *is using windows 98 right now*

Rillflag27
May 27th, 2003, 10:33 AM
I like PC's alot better than macs. I use a Mac because my bro alwasy uses the PC for games and I have nothing else to use.

Olaf The Fierce
May 27th, 2003, 01:44 PM
Windows Xp home is the best!!!!!!!

all mac systems are hard to run and most games dont even run on the system itself anyways.

Airemia
May 27th, 2003, 01:55 PM
Windows is better, in my opinion. Probably just because that what I've been using since I started using a computer (I think I was about 5), and I'm set in my ways.

true_redwaller
May 27th, 2003, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by Airemia
Windows is better, in my opinion. Probably just because that what I've been using since I started using a computer (I think I was about 5), and I'm set in my ways.

Same here, I've been using windows all my life except for those nasty computers at my school. I don't even know what those are.

Lyrian Aryns
May 27th, 2003, 05:15 PM
I haven't touched a Mac since... fourth grade, I believe. I don't even think I ever actually learned how to deal with them, since the only thing we ever used them for was this Oregon Trail game at school.
So, yeah, 'nother Windows person here.

dandin1
May 27th, 2003, 08:48 PM
XP pro all the way. I have been using windows since I was three... yup.. windows 3.1...

As for macs, I say ew. Even to the latest version. I hate the monochrome style that it has. I prefer the way XP looks, with color. I also find windows easier to use than macs, and I don't have to worry about compatibility.

(wow, no microsoft basher or mac lovers yet! Must be some sort of record!)

LadyBeelze
May 27th, 2003, 09:05 PM
i've been using windows all my life 'cept a couple times at school too. *has had windows 93..then windows 95 and now windows 98*

Matthias of Redwall
May 27th, 2003, 09:09 PM
I am using Window XP Home Edition right now... I tried to bug my parent to buy my a Window XP Professional but I did not successed:(

Furrtil
May 27th, 2003, 09:50 PM
I have Windows XP professional.

The last Macs I've used were in fourth grade, when we were using those awful ones from the eighties or seventies, with about six inch wide screens that shifted on you..........
Ugh
We also had an even worse computer. It had a larger monitor, but it was entirely blue, and you could only move around with system commands and the "insert" function was always on.

Olaf The Fierce
May 28th, 2003, 06:24 AM
i got windows professional off kazaa... i dont use it much though.

dandin1
May 28th, 2003, 07:06 AM
Matthias, you don't really need Pro unless you want to do networking and web hosting. I got pro for the administrative features and for the webserver.

Darkhood_343
May 28th, 2003, 09:37 AM
I think there's a post that needs to be edited here... And Dandin, how much does Pro cost? Those features sound sweet!

Mackinsie
May 28th, 2003, 03:29 PM
(wow, no microsoft basher or mac lovers yet! Must be some sort of record!)
I've shown amazing restraint, haven't I? ;) Windows is truly :slagar (oops... thought that was the evil emoticon! ;) ).
Seriously, Macs are much better computers. There are a wide variety of programs and applications available for Macs. The majority of web/graphic designers and animators use Mac computers. Macs rarely 'crash'. I love my Macs :D

Slagar the Cruel
May 28th, 2003, 05:58 PM
I personally prefer Windows. XP, at least. I've had it for a while, now, and it's never crashed.

dandin1
May 28th, 2003, 07:46 PM
hm, the pros at my school spent 10 mins fixing a serious crash on a mac... No crashing eh?
There's only one mac at my school, it's brand new, and not much people get to use it... well, it seems like not much people want to use it, it's always free.


The majority of web/graphic designers and animators use Mac computers.

You're right there. I don't know why, but at the latest discusion at the bcc, most people with macs said they were graphic designers...

Matthias of Redwall
May 28th, 2003, 08:01 PM
Pretty expensive, and oh Dandin, I must have a pro because I play Neopets and I am sick of the slow loading of my computer..

Didn't I hear you volunteer to buy a Pro for me Dan?;) :cornflow:

Rillflag27
May 28th, 2003, 08:01 PM
it might be because macs have etter graphics than PC's

Furrtil
May 28th, 2003, 08:35 PM
Eh.... Matthias, Windows XP pro does not (or shouldn't) make your computer any faster than the home edition. Like Dandin said, the professional version is for networks and other spiffy stuff that I don't know about. I only have it because at home, we have a network.

Mackinsie
May 29th, 2003, 05:32 PM
hm, the pros at my school spent 10 mins fixing a serious crash on a mac
Well... who knows what terrible things the evil school children did to that poor defenseless Mac. ;)


No crashing eh?
Actually, I said they rarely crash. ;) No comp is 'crash-proof'.

Madd The Sane
June 3rd, 2003, 06:16 PM
Originally posted by dandin1
[B]
As for macs, I say ew. Even to the latest version. I hate the monochrome style that it has. I prefer the way XP looks, with color. I also find windows easier to use than macs, and I don't have to worry about compatibility.


What Monochrome style? I think you are talking about OS 6 (iferior OS Version). Mac has most of the features that XP has, but they came out with them sooner ( 8-bit Transparency, english text-to-speech, near complete altering of OS display, altering display of single icon, etc...). In fact, the only thing that was not included on previos versions of the Mac was a screen saver. I like After Dark, pity it is incompatable with OS 9 (I still have 8.6). I am NOT writing this on my mac. My mac does not have a proper working modem.

I don't know if this thing is present on any other computer, but when this computer is hot enough, it won't start up.

As for Emulating..
the mac can emulate a PC pretty well, but
the Windows can't emulate the PowerPC processor that is on all modern macs and a few older ones.

A different OS can make your computer run faster because it uses things more efecently, or it uses things the other OS couldn't use or wasn't designed to use (Ex XP home doesn't use a second processor on dual processor computers, but XP Pro does)

dandin1
June 3rd, 2003, 07:45 PM
;) No comp is 'crash-proof'.
If only every comp was crash-proof... That'd be life.

What Monochrome style?
I'm talking about OS X. I also don't like the way the titlebar buttons have nothing to do with what they do.

when this computer is hot enough, it won't start up.
Looks like you got a serious ventilation problem!

Matthias of Redwall
June 4th, 2003, 08:18 PM
I will dump those macs into the trash a long time. Those macs are nightmares. They need TEN seconds to SAVE a paragraph, and mind ye, it is a short one too! They are simply ???? machine(ooops, shouldn' have said that!:o ) Anyways, they are just nightmares, one time I typed in a sentence, I got to wait a few seconds before the words I typed appeared on the screen!

Overall, Windows in better than Macs

Madd The Sane
June 4th, 2003, 09:33 PM
It depends on the mac and the program. A 68K macs (very old) aren't fast or powerful. Also, if some macs are running software that macs can't support, then it slows it down. I've also seen an old Windows do the same thing as you discribed. :p :D :p :D :p :D :p :D

dandin1
June 5th, 2003, 07:12 AM
if some macs are running software that macs can't support

Thats teh biggest problem with macs. compabillity! I have a friend that has a mac, and nothing is compatible with it. When I want to tranfer a file to a friend that has mac using MSN messenger, it doesn't work. When I wan't to play a multiplayer game of AOE, he always says he can't because he doesn't have his dad's laptop with him....

Madd The Sane
June 5th, 2003, 05:47 PM
Originally posted by dandin1
When I wan't to play a multiplayer game of AOE, he always says he can't because he doesn't have his dad's laptop with him....

You probably aren't using the same or compatable Multiplayer mode. even on same OSes, if you are trying to connect to another game through a different mode, thwy won't recognize each onter!

Either that, or your friend should getAge Of Empires for the Mac. :p


Originally posted by Me, where I said
Also, if some macs are running software that macs can't support, then it slows it down.
I wanted to add as well:
also, if there is a program isn't PowerPC accelerated (built for the PowerPC), it can slow down the PowerPC. Also, If there is a program made for Power Macintoshes but still has some 68K code, thus making it runnable to the old mac, IT WON'T BE AS FAST!!!


I might sould like a hypocrit right now, but please just post what OS you like (Mac, windows, Lunux, MS-DOS, Etc...) and why; don't argue: mad:

Madd The Sane
June 5th, 2003, 05:59 PM
Can't...delete...Post!!!!
**Falls sensless to ground**

Red Draco
June 5th, 2003, 07:19 PM
Macs are your best choice if you want to specialise in something, especially 2D graphics. In other words, it's a good computer for a professional. Most people who dinkle with computers aren't professionals, though. :) Which is why Windows is the popular choice.

Martin the Warrior
June 5th, 2003, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by Matthias of Redwall
They are simply ???? machine(ooops, shouldn' have said that!:o )

Let me take a moment to explain my philosophy regarding profanity.

On the internet, there is no such thing as a "slip". This isn't a place where you accidentally exclaim something, there are three absolute "checkpoints" you must pass through to do it and there are countless others to give you a warning sign.

First, you need to think it. Second, you need to physically type it out. Finally, after having done the afore-mentioned, you need to click "post". Those are three points where something in your mind should have gone off to remind you that swearing is unacceptable on this Forum.

In this particular instance, we have an additional "checkpoint" where something should have registered-- recognizing something enough to actually type out "I shouldn't have said that" yet doing so anyway. So, the situation I'm presented with is-- Somebody thought it, typed it out, recognized it shouldn't be said here, yet posted it anyway. That kind of removes any grounds for defense.

I'll let you off with a warning this time, Matthias, but don't do it again.

Now, everyone kindly return to the main topic of this thread.

Matthias of Redwall
June 7th, 2003, 02:55 PM
Now Martin, I know you are right but the thing is it is very easy to let 'slip' of something. You know how? Just type without thinking... it is easy try it yourselve!;) But your point taken Martin, sorry:( *wine*

Martin the Warrior
June 7th, 2003, 02:59 PM
To slip? Yes. To make note of that slip and click post anyway? No.

Goozy
June 8th, 2003, 08:57 AM
Macs. I tend to do more Photoshop work than the usual person and webdesign on a daily basis. Windows is nice if you like to sit around and play video games, chat, etc. Mac is good for people who create.

Even better: having a Mac and running Linux on it too. ^^

Rillflag27
June 8th, 2003, 09:25 AM
Originally posted by dandin1
When I wan't to play a multiplayer game of AOE, he always says he can't because he doesn't have his dad's laptop with him....

My Mac wont even load the MSN site it says there is an error. So I have to wait till my bro finishes his game on the PC

Goozy
June 8th, 2003, 11:03 AM
Originally posted by Rillflag27
My Mac wont even load the MSN site it says there is an error. So I have to wait till my bro finishes his game on the PC

Then it's your internet explorer program, not your Mac.

The Red Badger
June 8th, 2003, 11:16 AM
Then it's your internet explorer program, not your Mac.

Correctamundo.

About 90% of the cases people attribute to Macs being "awful" boil down to the fact that the user simply doesn't know how to operate the machine. That's like a person who drives an automatic saying a car with a stick shift is busted because they can't make it go. :p

Matthias of Redwall
June 8th, 2003, 11:33 AM
Originally posted by Rillflag27
My Mac wont even load the MSN site it says there is an error. So I have to wait till my bro finishes his game on the PC




My dad uses the computer a lot, so all I do is before he could use it, I barricade myself in the computer room and use it for like 5--6 hours:) or maybe until the door is about to come down on me because my dad is knocking on the door so hard:lol:

Goozy
June 8th, 2003, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by The Red Badger
Correctamundo.

About 90% of the cases people attribute to Macs being "awful" boil down to the fact that the user simply doesn't know how to operate the machine. That's like a person who drives an automatic saying a car with a stick shift is busted because they can't make it go. :p

Heh heh! Good one, Reds! I love your icon, by the way.

Matthias of Redwall
June 8th, 2003, 12:00 PM
Originally posted by Martin the Warrior
To slip? Yes. To make note of that slip and click post anyway? No.



Ah well, just leave me to die in shame.....:( *thok*









R.I.P.


Here lies Mathias of Redwall,
Died by the cause of the lectures
Of his elders. And woe betides to
Anyone who wakes him



Died in Spring of Lecture

Mackinsie
June 8th, 2003, 12:42 PM
R I P
Here lies Matthias...
melodramatic to the very end...

;)

Matthias of Redwall
June 8th, 2003, 04:42 PM
My will




Er I don't really have any thing to give,
But I think I will give my computer to anyone
Who really needs it, adn my printer to anyone
Who need it. The rest of you can share out my
life time saving... Hope you enjoy your rest of your
life and I will come back in intervals


GOOD LUCK

Madd The Sane
June 9th, 2003, 08:38 AM
Originally posted by Goozy
Even better: having a Mac and running Linux on it too. ^^

Yay, OS X. I can't get OS X, My computer doesn't have the right processor.

One of the classic games I like is called Realmz (yes, it's spelled right.). It is also avalable for windows, but it doesn't work as good.

Rillflag27
June 9th, 2003, 09:38 AM
Originally posted by Goozy
Then it's your internet explorer program, not your Mac.

(i'm quoting everybody else who said this)

Yes thats true, but sometimes my mac freezes. It wont open certain programs and just shut down completely. It's not just my internet.

Rillflag27
June 9th, 2003, 09:40 AM
Originally posted by The Red Badger
About 90% of the cases people attribute to Macs being "awful" boil down to the fact that the user simply doesn't know how to operate the machine. That's like a person who drives an automatic saying a car with a stick shift is busted because they can't make it go. :p

Hey, I'm not that stupid....................I think..........anyway I cant drive :lol:

Slagar the Cruel
June 9th, 2003, 11:37 AM
You know, I never understood why a lot of people (not saying anyone here) get really fierce in debating about OSes... I mean, it's just a matter of preference, right? I mean, what if Coke vs. Pepsi arguments got so heated? "Coca-Cola is for idiots who just can't take the hardcore Acesulfame-K that only Pepsi can provide!" "No, only tasteless losers drink Pepsi. The phosphoric acid in Coca Cola makes it the choice of all serious beverage-drinkers." Heh... that would actually be pretty entertaining. ;)

Rillflag27
June 9th, 2003, 12:24 PM
heh, nice Idea Slagar I think I will start a thread like that:rolleyes:

Madd The Sane
June 9th, 2003, 02:45 PM
Originally posted by Rillflag27
Sometimes my mac freezes. It wont open certain programs and just shut down completely. It's not just my internet.

The problem may be due to the fact that either the OS, the program(s), or both, might not have enough RAM. Tips on how to increase memory
1) If you are running classic, increase the memmory partion on the program that is causing you problems
2) enable Virtual Memory
3) buy more memory

it could also be a conflict with extentions. If you need help, just type Command (the strange looking key) and ?.

(My Official 30th post.)
(I made my picture from scratch, so there :p {plese don't mock it's stupid animation})

MoonShadow
June 9th, 2003, 02:46 PM
Macs... I have no idea how to use them. I've used Windows all my life, so that's what I'm used to. Like what other people said, there's also a compatibility problem.

Madd The Sane
June 9th, 2003, 03:00 PM
Originally posted by MoonShadow
macs...Like what other people said, there's also a compatibility problem.

True, but can you open mac CD and/or Flippies on a Windows computer with the stuff already on it. No. Besides, Apple is doing it's best to limit compatability issues between Macs and PC, as seen on the new OSes (probably going to be better with the new one{can't remember name} coming out)

Rillflag27
June 9th, 2003, 05:53 PM
Madd, it's not RAM problem or anything it's my Mac, it is very old. My sis got it at Christmas like 4 years ago and we have moved it like 5 times

Madd The Sane
June 10th, 2003, 11:24 AM
How do You know it's not RAM? Oh, forgive me, It might be the hard drive, no, it's the Video card...(rants on for hours and hours)

Many problems on both OSes are due to lack of memory or the way it's managed (stupid windows GDI and rescorces: mad: ) I garentee, it's the RAM. How much is in there and what OS do you use (Mac OS X requires a lot to run :eek: )?

Matthias of Redwall
June 11th, 2003, 07:32 PM
Once there is mouse that is greater than the great,
Come back to settle everything straight,
Solve the riddle and you will see,
What had become of me.




Someone better clean my grave:lol:

Madd The Sane
June 13th, 2003, 10:46 AM
Originally posted by Rillflag27
Mac, it is very old. My sis got it at Christmas like 4 years ago and we have moved it like 5 times

Unless you got it used, it should have a G3 Processor, at least, I think. If you have problems using Netscape navigator (or communicator), try using Internet Explorer, or Vice versa. What web browser do you use and what version is it?

Rillflag27
June 13th, 2003, 10:57 AM
I use Internet Explorer, and the newest IE there is.

Madd The Sane
June 13th, 2003, 09:26 PM
try downloading and installing the most recent version of outlook express for mac and running it ONCE at http://download.microsoft.com/download/outlookexp5mac/Install/5.0.6/MacOS/EN-US/OutlookExpress506ENU.bin It might also help to get carbonlib if you got pre-os 9, or update it to to the most recent version avalable for your OS. If you got OS 8.5, get an update for 8.6.

Don't question my remidey: It might work.

Rillflag27
June 13th, 2003, 09:59 PM
K I'll get to it later

Madd The Sane
June 16th, 2003, 12:32 PM
Yet Again

Just post your favorite OS and your reasons! Please!

Madd The Sane
June 18th, 2003, 04:55 PM
Yes, I do like computers, and am planning on becoming a computer programmer. Macs give you more umph for the processor. Macs typically have something known as a velocity engine, which I think only AMD comes close to becoming. :lol:

Madd The Sane
July 31st, 2004, 01:53 PM
Madd, it's not RAM problem or anything it's my Mac, it is very old. My sis got it at Christmas like 4 years ago and we have moved it like 5 times
If you use classic, you might have to increase the memory partition on an application. You could have 8 GB of RAM and if a program (in classic) is not allocated more RAM, the rest of the RAM is not going to be used.
On OS X "native" applications you could have 8 GB of RAM and the OS will automatically allocate the needed RAM (blessed OS X :cool: )

Lonna Bowstripe
July 31st, 2004, 02:34 PM
Mac's are awesome!! I have Panther, and cause you're the mac expert, Madd, I have 2 questions.

First, why does my radio go funny when I press the F11 key to view my desktop, and second, I heard that the nest version of Mac OS X is Tiger. Is that true, and when's it coming out?

Madd The Sane
July 31st, 2004, 06:05 PM
Mac's are awesome!! I have Panther, and cause you're the mac expert, Madd, I have 2 questions.

First, why does my radio go funny when I press the F11 key to view my desktop, and second, I heard that the nest version of Mac OS X is Tiger. Is that true, and when's it coming out?
for the first question: is it a computer radio or is your keyboard a wireless type? You can try Apple's technical support. I hear that Apple has the best technical support out there.
The second question: yes and I don't know when it's going to come out. for more information go to http://www.apple.com/macosx/tiger/

Lonna Bowstripe
July 31st, 2004, 08:43 PM
for the first question: is it a computer radio or is your keyboard a wireless type?

It's a radio that's not conected to the computer at all. I was listening to my battery powered radio while using this site, I pressed the F11 key and the radio emitted this high pitched whine. :rolleyes:

Madd The Sane
August 2nd, 2004, 03:52 PM
Is your keyboard a wireless keyboard? If it's not, then I don't know what the problem is.

Trowbaggs
August 3rd, 2004, 08:55 AM
I have Panther to. Macs OS's just keep getting better. I cant wait to see the new generation of G5! iMacs in september. Tiger comes out in mid 2005 I think. I watched keynote and I think that's what Steve said.